Ostinato

Just checked my colleague’s Ph. D. thesis application called Ostinato (works in IE). It automatically adds drums to midi music using rhythm hypothesis based on the melody.

I used my old 2 midi’s: Ave Maria (not quite finished piece I’ve tried to write for a wedding) and Across The Universe (Beatles song I’ve tried to arrange as an a capella piece). Here are the midis with a drummer added: AM and ATU. The first one is correct (although those r’n’r drums might be hardly suitable for ‚church music’🙂 ) and with the latter, even though the rhythm hypothesis was not quite correct, the drums gave it a new dimension.

Never again am I going to arrange drums for my music – let the machine do it😛

Skomentuj

